NEW BOOK: NEW SERIES! THE NIGHT RAVEN

Yes, I used all-caps in that title. Yes, I am a little bit giddy. And it’s possible that I may have had too much tea and chocolate, too! *buzzes gently*

I’m very excited (some would say over-excited) to announce that my new novel, The Night Raven, will land in shops on 23rd October. Yes, that’s very soon. I’m afraid I have rather neglected this website in favour of my newsletter (sign up HERE!) and social media.

It’s the first book in Crow Investigations, a new paranormal mystery series set in London and featuring private investigator, Lydia Crow.

The Night Raven has had some lovely early feedback, including this fabulous review from UK fantasy author, Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled and Masks and Shadows:

‘My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!’

Meep!

PRE-ORDER AVAILABLE NOW

You can pre-order The Night Raven on iBooks (Kobo and GooglePlay following soon) and it will be available on all retailers in print and ebook on publication day.

Here’s the blurb:

Meet Lydia Crow…

Lydia has always known she has no power, especially next to her infamous and more-than-slightly dodgy family. Which is why she carved her own life as a private investigator far away from London.

When a professional snafu forces her home, the head of the family calls in a favour, and Lydia finds herself investigating the disappearance of her cousin, Maddie.

Soon, Lydia is neck-deep in problems: her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost, the intriguing, but forbidden, DCI Fleet is acting in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and tensions between the old magical families are rising.

The Crows used to rule the roost and rumours claim they are still the strongest.

The Silvers have a facility for lying and they run the finest law firm in London.

The Pearl family were costermongers and everybody knows that a Pearlie can sell feathers to a bird.

The Fox family… Well. The less said about the Fox family the better.

For seventy-five years, a truce between the four families has held strong, but could the disappearance of Maddie Crow be the thing to break it?

‘Clever and charming and funny – and a bit creepy!’

Keris Stainton, author of If You Could See Me Now and Counting Stars

The Garden of Magic Audio Book Cover Reveal!

My goodness – March, already!

I am blogging more infrequently than ever these days (sorry!) so if you want to keep up with the latest from me (and get the news before anybody else), please consider signing up for my mailing list. It really is the best way for us to stay in touch…

In book news, the audio version of The Garden of Magic is out next month. I just received the cover from my talented designer and I’m really pleased… I hope you like it, too!

Also out next month is my first non-fiction title for writers. It’s called Stop Worrying: Start Writing and it reveals everything I have learned over the last decade about overcoming fear, self-doubt and procrastination in order to get books written.

In other news, I had a lovely research trip to London for a new series idea which I am incubating, and I woke up this morning with a completely new book idea which I’m really excited about…. So many ideas, so little time!

 

 

 

 

 

I Have A Book Title! Meep!

Lazy morning, Zelda-style
Zelda is successfully hiding her excitement at my new title…

Hello my lovelies! Hope you are all well, and I apologise in advance for the number of exclamation marks in the following post.

I’m very excited to announce that my new novel has a title* (courtesy of my wonderful editor at Lake Union) and a release date. Yes, it’s up for pre-order Right Now. No cover art, yet, but I have been told it’s being designed AS I TYPE THIS. (Sorry, forgot to warn you about the all-capitals-shouting, too. SORRY – TOO EXCITED.)

So, without further ado, my next book is called:

In The Light of What We See

And it will be published on 8th March 2016. Meep!

In other news, I’ve put together a little behind-the-scenes freebie for those of you who enjoyed reading about the Harper family in The Language of Spells, The Secrets of Ghosts and The Garden of Magic (or for people who just like free recipes).

Head here to grab your copy.

It features a lovely photograph of Iris’s journal, created by my amazing in-house production team (AKA My Mum and Dad – thank you!).

Also, if you’re interested in writing, but need some help in getting started, check out my latest article on The Worried Writer: How To Build a Writing Habit The Easy Way

 

*Listeners of my podcast, The Worried Writer, may be confused. You might be thinking ‘but Sarah told us the title in the last episode’. Apologies! It changed. I hope you like the new one!

 

 

Holiday fun and novella news

Well, I’m FINALLY allowed to tell you all that I have a new book coming out. Yay!

It’s just a short one (a novella, in fact) and is a prequel to The Language of Spells. It’s called The Garden of Magic and I believe it’s out next month (I will let you know exact date when I am given it).

I’ve had quite a few messages from readers (thank you!) asking for more from Iris Harper (who we get to know through her journals in The Language of Spells) so when Carina asked me to write a novella, I thought it would be fun to get to know her better. I really hope you like it!

In other news, I took a week off. Yes, a whole week with no editing, no writing and precious little internet time (how did I cope?!).

Truth be told, I was feeling a little frayed around the edges before the holiday, and I feel so much better for the break. We did lots of lovely family stuff, including a hill walk in the beautiful Glen Clova, a visit to these fine silver beasts, and a roller disco. Yes, you read that right; I donned wrist guards (the caution of age) and some bad-ass black rollerboots and whizzed around a darkened hall for a happy couple of hours. It was brilliant!

The Kelpies
The Kelpies against a grey sky – it’s summer here, honest.

I hope you are having a good summer and, as always, thank you for reading!