NEW BOOK: NEW SERIES! THE NIGHT RAVEN

Yes, I used all-caps in that title. Yes, I am a little bit giddy. And it’s possible that I may have had too much tea and chocolate, too! *buzzes gently*

I’m very excited (some would say over-excited) to announce that my new novel, The Night Raven, will land in shops on 23rd October. Yes, that’s very soon. I’m afraid I have rather neglected this website in favour of my newsletter (sign up HERE!) and social media.

It’s the first book in Crow Investigations, a new paranormal mystery series set in London and featuring private investigator, Lydia Crow.

The Night Raven has had some lovely early feedback, including this fabulous review from UK fantasy author, Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled and Masks and Shadows:

‘My favourite new urban fantasy series, clever and twisty and deliciously magical, with a shivery sense of wonder that feels utterly grounded in its London setting. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Genevieve Cogman or Robert Galbraith!’

Meep!

PRE-ORDER AVAILABLE NOW

You can pre-order The Night Raven on iBooks (Kobo and GooglePlay following soon) and it will be available on all retailers in print and ebook on publication day.

Here’s the blurb:

Meet Lydia Crow…

Lydia has always known she has no power, especially next to her infamous and more-than-slightly dodgy family. Which is why she carved her own life as a private investigator far away from London.

When a professional snafu forces her home, the head of the family calls in a favour, and Lydia finds herself investigating the disappearance of her cousin, Maddie.

Soon, Lydia is neck-deep in problems: her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost, the intriguing, but forbidden, DCI Fleet is acting in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and tensions between the old magical families are rising.

The Crows used to rule the roost and rumours claim they are still the strongest.

The Silvers have a facility for lying and they run the finest law firm in London.

The Pearl family were costermongers and everybody knows that a Pearlie can sell feathers to a bird.

The Fox family… Well. The less said about the Fox family the better.

For seventy-five years, a truce between the four families has held strong, but could the disappearance of Maddie Crow be the thing to break it?

‘Clever and charming and funny – and a bit creepy!’

Keris Stainton, author of If You Could See Me Now and Counting Stars

Beneath The Water is out!

As I intimated earlier, this blog is now moribund. I have changed the name from ‘blog’ to ‘news’ to reflect the sporadic nature of my updates.

If you want to keep up with my new releases, get behind-the-scenes information, and exclusive giveaways, I would love it if you joined my mailing list.

I usually send out an email once a month and it’s definitely the best way to connect with me these days.

Even when I take a little social media break to get some intensive writing done, I still read and reply to my emails!

Plus, you get a free Harper family short story, The Art of Giving.

 

Sign up here:

So, onto my news update…

Beneath The Water is finally here! Huzzah!

Beneath The Water is set in both Arisaig on the west coast of Scotland in the present day and amidst the medical community of Edinburgh in 1847.

Stella Jackson is broken-hearted after her fiancé leaves and she runs away to Scotland. Initially she stays with her best friend, but ends up working for the mysterious Jamie Munro in the beautiful, but remote, Munro House. It’s a Gothic love story set in a stunning part of the world with a historical strand which explores the background to some of the medical breakthroughs we take for granted today such as obstetric anaesthesia.

‘I really enjoyed this story about secrets in the past and present… A very compelling read.’ – Portobello Book Blog

‘A little bit historical, a little bit suspense, and a lot of great writing.’ – Five star Amazon.com review

Like the sound of this book?

Why not add it to your ‘want to read’ list on GoodReads?

Thanks so much!

Or, it’s available to buy now:

Amazon

In ebook or paperback.

Audible

The audiobook is read by the talented Fiona Hardingham who also narrated In The Light of What We See.

Beneath The Water Cover Reveal

Hello, my lovelies.

Well, it’s a been a while, hasn’t it? Blogging has rather fallen off my to-do list this year and, I’ll be quite honest, I’m not sure whether that situation will improve… I am thinking of renaming this section of the site ‘news’ or ‘what I’m working on at the moment’ to indicate the more sporadic nature of the updates.

If you miss hearing from me and want to keep up-to-date with my writing news, life stuff, reading (and tea!) recommendations, then the very best thing is to sign up to my Sarah Painter Books newsletter.

I promise I won’t inundate your inbox (I usually send an email once every 4-8 weeks) and you will be the first to hear my news, as well as getting access to exclusive content and giveaways.

My news today is that I have finally finished all of the rewrites and edits on my new book. It’s called Beneath The Water and I have a cover AND a release date – huzzah!

Ta-da! What do you think? I really hope you like it…

 

It’s out on 8th February 2018 in paperback, ebook and audio formats, and you can pre-order it right now:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

The blurb isn’t up yet (sign-up to my mailing list to be notified as soon as I have it!), but the book is set on the west coast of Scotland in the present day with a historical strand, set in Victorian Edinburgh.

In other news, I had a lovely summer and am now raring to go with my new writing projects.

I have just finished the rewrites on a supernatural thriller (darker and more violent than my usual fare) and am getting stuck into a new series idea… More on that as soon as I’m able to talk about it!

 

 

New Book Deal! Huzzah!

The contract is signed so I can finally reveal my news…

I have a new book deal with Lake Union (the publisher of In The Light of What We See) and I couldn’t be happier!

Cheezburger GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

As I have mentioned before, the working title of the book is Beneath The Water and it is set in Arisaig on the west coast of Scotland. I am working on edits with the Lake Union team right now, and it will hopefully be out early next year.

In other news, my non fiction book, Stop Worrying; Start Writing is out this Friday (14th April). If you are a writer (or interested in becoming one) or just want an insight into the creative process, then do check it out.

It will be available in print and ebook on all major retailers, with an audio version coming later this year.

Finally, an explanation for the ‘huzzah’ in the title of this post. I spent last week with my lovely in-laws, including my delightful niece. She is twenty months old, has a fabulous vocabulary and picks words up brilliantly. If you thought there was anything cuter than a toddler shouting ‘huzzah’ while throwing her arms into the air with joy, then you would be wrong.

Huzzah!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Garden of Magic Audio Book Cover Reveal!

My goodness – March, already!

I am blogging more infrequently than ever these days (sorry!) so if you want to keep up with the latest from me (and get the news before anybody else), please consider signing up for my mailing list. It really is the best way for us to stay in touch…

In book news, the audio version of The Garden of Magic is out next month. I just received the cover from my talented designer and I’m really pleased… I hope you like it, too!

Also out next month is my first non-fiction title for writers. It’s called Stop Worrying: Start Writing and it reveals everything I have learned over the last decade about overcoming fear, self-doubt and procrastination in order to get books written.

In other news, I had a lovely research trip to London for a new series idea which I am incubating, and I woke up this morning with a completely new book idea which I’m really excited about…. So many ideas, so little time!

 

 

 

 

 

Yay – I Get To Be A Year Older! And Other Thoughts on Turning Forty

Birthday candles

No, that header is not sarcastic. Those of a cynical disposition who would prefer not read a soppy post, please look away now…

I turn forty this month and I’m absolutely thrilled about it.

For various personal reasons, I have always been aware of how lucky I am to be alive. I mean, we’re all lucky to be alive, but I very nearly didn’t make it out of babyhood (having been born with a literal broken heart, I was saved by a wonderful NHS cardiology department) and, without wishing to be too vomit-inducing, I’m so happy and grateful for my life and that I still get to be living it.

Rather than worrying about ageing (let’s face it, there can be few less-productive things to fret over), I’m truly celebrating. I get to be forty: I’m so blinking lucky!

I adored my thirties and so many amazing things have happened to me in the last decade – both personally and professionally – that it is only natural to feel a little sad at waving it goodbye. However, I have every intention of making my forties just as enjoyable and fulfilling. More time with family and friends, more writing, more travel and fun and nice food and reading good books!

Perhaps I have an unfair advantage; I was the child who couldn’t wait to grow up, the teenager who always wanted to be older, the woman in her twenties who ran joyfully into the arms of marriage, mortgage and motherhood. I have, frankly. always been middle-aged (reading, radio four, comfortable shoes, saying ‘gosh’) so it’s quite nice to be at the ‘right’ stage for my natural inclinations.

Hooray!